Spain’s official language is Spanish, also known as Castilian Spanish (or just Castilian, or Castellano). It is spoken by over 45 million people in Spain. The Spanish spoken in Spain is largely the same as the one spoken in Latin America, however some key differences do exist. The main distinction is the different accent, but there are some differences in the usage of grammar and vocabulary as well. Spanish is the 4th most spoken language in the world.

Co-Official and Unofficial Languages of Spain

According to the cultural diversity of the different Spanish regions, there are other co-official or unofficial languages that are spoken across the country. Other significant languages spoken in Spain include Catalan, Galician, Valencian and Basque. Catalan is a Romance language named for its Catalonian origins and is the most widely spoken of all minority languages in Spain. Catalan is spoken by 4.6 million people and is the co-official language of Catalonia and the Balearic Islands. Next is Galician, which is the official language of the region of Galicia, next to Portugal. Galician, or Callego, is spoken by 2.6 million people. Next is Valencian, which is the official language in the region around Valencia and is spoken by 2 million people. Next, Basque is spoken by around 900,000 people in Navarra and the Basque Country, and is often referred to as the most unique language in Europe due to its complex nature.

Others include Balearic, Extremaduran, Cantabrian, Asturian, Aragonese, Leonese, Altoaragonese, Fala Galaico-Etremeña, Aranese, Murcian and Silbo gomero.

Foreign languages most widely represented in Spain include English, French, Romanian, Italian, Portuguese and German.